Scout Premium Content

Mullen Names 2010 Season Captains

Derek Sherrod

Mississippi State got to the end of the 2009 season before formally recognizing the team captains, and in year-two Dan Mullen might well have followed the same policy. But with their preseason efforts the Bulldogs have convinced their coach to change that call…and for positive reasons. "Guys have stepped-up and we've seen some leadership on this team, this year. So we named four captains."

This quartet will be all-seniors. WLB K.J. Wright, MLB Chris White, DE Pernell McPhee, and RT Derek Sherrod will begin the 2010 campaign acknowledged as captains of this Mississippi State squad. Mullen made the announcement following Tuesday's practice. And, obviously, very much earlier than in his debut season when it took practicing and playing through just about the entire calendar before such... Recommended Stories

Up Next


3,075 Fans online
    Join The Conversation